The Drivers Licence Saga Continues…

So I applied to have my Drivers Licence switched for a french one June 20th and then headed to Canada for two weeks which brought me back to France July 13th.

I kept checking online to see the status of my licence and nothing was moving so last week on Wednesday, I called.


 

Me: I’d like to know the status of my request. (gave info, etc, the usual)

Her: Seems like the request has been on hold and you have to present yourself at the prefecture.

Me calmly asking: Why?
Me (inside): OMG! F_)&*(^”£$^$(*”)!!!!!!

Her: That’s all the information I have.

Me: (in my head) Go figure! No letter was send, email, phone call. Nothing!
Thank god I picked up the phone!


Wondering what the heck could be missing, I got all my stuff ready and headed to the prefecture nice and early Friday morning. Lined up, I was second!, at 7:30 and waited until 8:30 as the line grew longer and longer behind us. At least 50-60 people.

When dealing with anything ‘government’ in France, ALWAYS get there sooner!!! 

So we went through security, presented myself on the second floor and was told to fill out a form (I had already filled out), needed two photos (which thankfully, I had) and take a photocopy of my resident card (which was already in my file)… so I headed to the third floor to make copies in black and white and then headed to the 4th floor and took a number.

I waited ten minutes, was called and explained my story, she did NOT ask for any of the informaiton I had panically put together in a span of 5 minutes right before.

She went to the back to return 10 minutes later to tell me, ‘your file will be sent to be processed.

I replied, ‘What? What happened?’ She explained that the file wasn’t processed properly and that I could come back in 15-20 days to pick up my licence.

My file had been sitting somewhere for the past 6 weeks collecting dust.

I replied, ‘So I can return in 15 days and physically have a licence in my hand?’

She looked at me funny and said yes.

I’m still skeptical and won’t believe it until it actually happens.

One thought on “The Drivers Licence Saga Continues…

  1. Pingback: Finally! | A Dream to Paris

Leave a Reply

