My first Parisian Pinner.

Pinner.

My new term for Picnic Dinner and I had my first pinner in Paris by the Eiffel tower a few weeks ago with my sister in laws sister Susan and her boyfriend Matt who have been backpacking around Europe for almost a month now. First time meeting them and so happy I can now call them friends as well as extended family.

I’ve been here since October but haven’t done much in Paris yet but as I found out, I actually like experiencing things for the first time with people who are as well.

Cue the ‘Pinner’!!

I told them not to bring anything and I went around the 8th and bought a few things… typical french things, macarons, cheese, saucissons sec, baguette, salads and of course, plastic glasses, forks, a couple knives and a good bottle of champagne. ♥
I can never get enough of champagne!!!

The bag. was. heavy.
But I hightailed it to the 7th arrondissement in 40 degree weather, I was late!
I’m never late!

I found them, apologized profusely and we walked over to see the lady made of steel. I can honestly say that I never tire of seeing her.
We laid out a sheet and started our Pinner, talking about their travels and Paris life and what they had on their Parisian agenda.

IMG_2709

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2700

Our pinner goods. Belgian chocolates they brought from Bruges that Matt’s trying to save since it was SO hot out and some melted.

IMG_2693 IMG_2702 IMG_2703 IMG_2708


 

Observations of the Parisian pinner: 

  • Good place to picnic: Jardins Champs de Mars

    champs de mars

    Jardins Champs de Mars

  • Men try to sell you wine, champagne, beers, etc. We didn’t buy any because I somewhat know my wines and I wouldn’t buy them personally.
    Especially at 10€-15€ each. Walk to a local grocery store and buy a good wine for 5€ and chill it before going on a picnic or bring/buy ice cubes.
  • Bring more than one bottle… Just in case!
  • Napkins are essential.
  • Bathrooms are available nearby
  • Twinkling of the tower is every hour at 8pm, 9pm, etc
  • Watch your belongings
  • Take tons of photos
  • Have fun! 🙂

 

By the time we were done we had polished off the bottle of bubbly, we sautered off to a bistro to have a bit of rosé, wait for the strike of 10PM for the twinkling of the Eiffel Tower which i’ve never seen up close.

IMG_2694

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2695

IMG_2696

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2699

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2697

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2698

We then walked under and over to Trocadero where there’s another amazing view.

IMG_2701

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France

IMG_2706

Once we headed to the top we found couples dancing to music and some teaching others the steps.

IMG_2707

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France – We actually got to see the twinkling a second time at 11PM from another angle.

Easy to say, it’s been one of my FAVOURITE weekends since being in Paris! 🙂

Have a great week!!
♥ ♥ ♥

2 thoughts on “My first Parisian Pinner.

  1. Pingback: Bon Anniversaire! | A Dream to Paris

Leave a Reply

