Robert & Louise

This past weekend, after a good Sunday Crossfit session, a friend and I walked along Rue de Rivoli to 64, rue Vielle du Temple in the 3rd arrondissement and walked through the red doors of Robert et Louise.

IMG_0829

Robert & Louise

As soon as I walked in, I was in love! 

Small, as in I hit the back of a chair sitting at the bar walking into the restaurant, cozy and warm, stone walls, wood tables & chairs, the smell of wood burning was evident and the restaurant was full!

Good sign right?

Crossing our fingers, we were told that there were tables available in the basement so we made our way to the back of the restaurant to walk down the stone stairwell that lead to a low ceiling basement.

IMG_0821

 

We passed the stove where the burning wood smell was coming from and sitting on top were steaks being grilled as well as potatoes and green beans smothered in garlic and butter.

We said ‘THATS WHAT WE’RE HAVING!’

The smell was absolutely heavenly!

IMG_0828

As we were leaving…had to snap the stove.

We sat down, looked at the menu and saw that t-bone was the special of the day and when the waitress came, she took our order and we waited maybe 10-15 minutes for the meal to arrive.
For you wine fanatics, wine pairing is suggested with the special to bring out the flavours.
I, however, did not order due to my ‘no drinking’ streak.

IMG_0824

The plates arrived, our eyes almost popped out of our heads and we were instantly were SO happy and excited that we were going to be having this steak…  and couldn’t wait to dive in.
I personally don’t eat steak very often but I highly appreciate them when I do.

IMG_0822

Obviously we had to take a picture before though.

IMG_0823

I am not joking when I say that when I cut my steak for the first time, the knife melted into the meat.
I could of probably cut it with a spoon it was so tender.
The potatoes and green beans were equally as tasty! Anything with garlic and butter is fantastic, so simple but you get to enjoy the taste of the vegetable which is always an A++ in my books.
Rock salt and mustard is on the table if you like to add some.
(Beware: mustard in France has alot of kick 90% of the time)

IMG_0827

We took our time eating, talking, laughing, drinking San Pellegrino and taking in the surroundings of this amazing place.
Old bikes, empty wine bottles, pulley systems from old sail boats hanging from the ceiling, all so rustic and very comfortable.

Nothing fancy, dim lighting, great food and exactly what I was looking for.

IMG_0826

IMG_0825

Robert & Louise Basement bar

We declined tea, coffee and desert, even though I would of LOVED one, they looked delicious!
After being there for almost 2 hours, we climbed the stairs, passed a dying wood fire and walked out of a place that reminded me of home. 🙂


Hours (the are closed from 3 to 7 PM), menu and restaurant details can be found on their Facebook page. 

Reviews as well. They’ve had nothing but positive feedback on their steaks.

Cost of our meal for two was 56€’s. 

One thought on “Robert & Louise

  1. Pingback: Where to Stay in Paris… | A Dream to Paris

Leave a Reply

