Route vers le Marché Biologique des Batignolles

~ Marché Biologique des Batignolles – 17ième arrondissement ~
* Organic Market of Les Batignolles – 17th arrondissement*

  • Address: 34 Boulevard des Batignolles
  • Nearest Metro: Place de Clichy, Rome
  • Hours: Saturday from 9.00 a.m. to 2.00 p.m

After readying this –> post from the lovely Melissa, I knew I HAD to visit this market one day.

From a person who’s gone from eating junk junk junk to trying to eat as organic/clean as possible (on and off obviously but now really trying to hunker down again), I wanted to check out the organic part of the market and see what they offer.

This Saturday, after having gone over my allotted  ‘morning sleep in’ hours, I got dressed and decided to walk to the market.
I walked up Avenue Hoche until I got to big golden gates (that I didn’t know existed at the end of my street)… checked my phone to see if I could go through here to get to the market and yes!! I could so… I clicked my heels three times…

IMG_0703

… and walked towards what looked to be a lovely park with an abundant number of people huffing and puffing getting their cardio done or children cruising on their little scooters.

(I also found my future house for my future husband and I to live in)
IMG_0724
I couldn’t believe how pretty and clean this little park was, the small structures, it even had a working carousel!  a small pond with ducks and a few roses in bloom (in January… yes I know)!

I couldn’t help but take a few quick photos of the things that stood out and I could of taken more but I was pressed for time.

IMG_0707 IMG_0706 IMG_0722 IMG_0723

Not having realized that the Organic Market closed at 14h (2 p.m.), I only had an hour and a half left to get there and not knowing exactly where the market was, I had to hurry.

I walked out of the Park Monceau, sun was shining, onto Monceau street and took a little side street…

IMG_0711 IMG_0712

Took a detour and walked until I found the little market (not going to lie, I was a little lost) then all of a sudden there I was standing at the head of the market.

Hoche to Batignolles

This market was small, intimate and sold lots of fresh produce and fruit, fresh meat and seafood, sauces, cheese, health products, honey!, list goes on! and all organic. Everything indicates where its from and the price per item or per Kg.
3 sweet potatoes, a small pineapple, 2 avocados, 4 branches of kale, bunch of carrots, a bag of trail mix that I put together (15€!!!) and 2 pears were purchased.

IMG_0718

I didn’t have much time to take photos but promise next time I go, I’ll update this post with more pictures because it really is a cute market. 🙂

IMG_0714 IMG_0713

I almost bought 10 gorgeous roses but put them back… why?
I don’t have a vase to put them in…
How SAD!!! (Another item to add to my list of things to buy) 😉

Once I had perused the market quickly a second time, all the merchants packing up, I headed down Avenue des Batignolles to go back home.
I brought my metro card to take the metro back home but the sun was out and I couldn’t not take advantage of it.

I slowly started walking back, enjoying the sun and I came across a little store link:  http://www.bio-prestige-paris.fr/, crossed the street and walked in.
A wonderful french/italian organic store in which you can buy organic products or stop to have a little snack.

I was greeted with a smile and a happy ‘Bonjour!’, they sell everything from fresh pasta, to fresh butter, ready made sauces to dried fruit. The lady who was there was extremely sweet and helpful.

Will definitely be going back as I love supporting little stores who genuinely appreciate their customers.
I added grass fed butter (bullet proof coffee anyone?), pasta sauce, 85% dark chocolate organic eggs and tomato soup to my grocery bag.

I walked back through the park and unloaded my bag onto the counter back home, happy of my purchases.
Not minding that I paid a bit more than I would in a regular grocery store, (I think all the products below cost me around 40€’s), I was happy to support a local market and those who provided service with a smile.
(You rarely get those at your mainstream French grocery store).

IMG_0530

I then proceeded to make myself a HUGE kale salad with carrots, various nuts and boiled eggs.

I’ll be heading out to the covered market next Saturday and bring my camera this time. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Route vers le Marché Biologique des Batignolles

  1. Pingback: Marché Biologique Raspail * Raspail Organic Market | A Dream to Paris

  2. Pingback: Havre d’automne – Fall haven | Prête-Moi Paris

Leave a Reply

