Un dimanche à pieds

Last week I had the joys of travelling to Madrid, Spain for work and even though I didn’t see much other than an office and my hotel, I was brought to downtown Madrid Thursday night to experience a real ‘Tapas’ at Mercado San Antón (Calle de Augusto Figueroa, 24, 28004 Madrid, Spain) which was quite interesting. The ‘tapas’ area was on the 2nd floor, the market being on the 1st and bar on the 3rd, the plate we shared between 3 ladies had a huge over easy egg (ostrich egg perhaps?) surrounded by a type of sausage, bacon and peppers -all fried. I’m not a ‘fried food’ person so I find the food in Spain a bit too greasy and its made me realize how much I LOVE fresh food… but the evening was entertaining, we had champagne (my fave) and laughs which was very much needed. I miss my girls back home!! 

Can’t wait to go back as a tourist and explore the city. I found it extremely beautiful, ancient and theres something about all this history that makes it even more interesting.

IMG_0463 IMG_0462

When it was time to leave, I walked into a store at the airport and was instantly like a kid in a candy store…
LES TOROS!!! (I love bulls…) so needless to say, I had to buy a few things.

Hello new keychain and magnet for the fridge!

IMG_0461

I came back to Paris Friday evening, took the RER B back home (how brave of me) and was toasty in bed by 11:00 PM and slept/stayed in bed reading until 12:30 PM THE NEXT AFTERNOON!!!
Haven’t done that since I’ve been here, I was wiped! Went to get groceries and walked around for a bit of fresh air and then back home to keep reading my book (The witness wore red – incredible book! if you need something to read). 

Sunday was a day of spending time with family who came to Paris for work, hoped on the Metro around 11 and metro’ed (<–new term) to Sacré Coeur.

IMG_0459

Near Montmartre in the 18th arrondissement…
Great area for art.

IMG_0457 IMG_0458

We then headed to Le Marais spread through the 3rd and 4th arrondissement…

Sorry the video may be sideways… not sure how to change that but I adore the street entertainment here.

Ate in a lovely little restaurant called Korcarz (29 Rue des Rosiers, 75004 Paris) ‎for lunch and had the salmon quiche.
Très bon! and the deserts in the glass windows looked even better.

I did not partake in those deserts but…
Korcarz
** photo credit:  google.ca streetview

I did buy Les Incontournables de Paris at Pierre Hermé… A long box of 7 LOVELY macarons full of flavour, crunchy coating, soft on the inside and just… so yummy.
My first macarons of France since being here. I know! Almost 2 months of no macarons!
I was told that out of all macarons, this is the place to buy them.

www.pierreherme.com

Macaron P

A Sunday à pieds that I appreciated every minute spent with family and can’t wait for another one to come along soon.

I’ve always loved Fall because… duh… cozy sweaters, huge scarves, gloves and boots. What else?!
I took full advantage of my Canadian clothing this past weekend. I knew it would come in handy here. 🙂 

IMG_0460

and… I’ve got to say that December in Paris is anything but boring.
Lights, lights and more lights which seem to make it extra pretty (if that’s even possible?) and puts an extra little bounce in your step while walking to where you need to go….
and makes you smile inside without even realizing it. 

IMG_0398 IMG_0343 IMG_0342

Oh!! and the best news of the month, I have a new nephew Julien who I can’t WAIT to meet!!!!!!

CONGRATS to my brother and his lovely lovely fiancé!

A très bientôt! xo

One thought on “Un dimanche à pieds

Leave a Reply

