The Champagne bottle will wait.

The other day, I was having a deep conversation about my citizenship and kept wondering….. when am I going to get something? Will I ever hear anything?

So I embarked on the internet and google’d and finally found a phone number of Le Service de la nationalité des Français établis hors de France.
You better believe I waltzed into work the next morning with phone number in hand emailed to myself and dialed the number.

The line failed the first time as I added another regional prefix of Le Gard where my family is from so I hung up and tried again.
The distinct … beeeeeeeeeep……. beeeeeeeeeep of calling to France resonated through the receiver.
Am I FINALLY going to talk to someone about my file?
Finally it picked up and I go straight to listening to some lovely hold music.

THEN, someone was talking to me ON MY RECEIVER!

Woah!
This is happening.
Finally!

“Bonjour Monsieur, je suis Canadienne…..(continued in English for the non french readers) and I sent in my french citizenship application in April.
Would you be kind enough to tell me what the status is of my file?”

Him: “Well……. have you received a registration number?”

Me: “Non Monsieur. Would you be able to tell me how long that will take?”

Him: “OH!!!! You sent it just in April Madame??!? *as if I was asking something crazy*
Well this could take between 8 to 12 months!!!!!”

Me: “D’accord, merci Monsieur.”

*CliCK* Hang up the receiver

8 to 12 months? At least I have an answer now. The champagne bottle can wait.

4 thoughts on “The Champagne bottle will wait.

  1. Pingback: Citizenship update.. | A Dream to Paris

Leave a Reply

